Creativity, Culture, And Cuisine With Slow Travel Berlin

herbs

Yesterday I had the pleasure of attending the Slow Travel Berlin Event at Markthalle IX in Kreuzberg.  The gathering was entitled “A Celebration Of Creativity, Culture & Cuisine,” and it was all that and more…

The program was packed with cool activities and a boatload of Berlin tweeps showed up, such as @iamkosmonaut, @uberlinblog, @smonicats and @chefinberlin.  In the morning there were tours all over the city,  and two interesting workshops included one on photography mentoring, taken by @NicoleNewBlack and another on sewing, “taken” (not!) by @sebastianvasta.  I skipped those things and opted to focus on the afternoon in the market.

The Locavore food market was all about local Berliner goods, and boy were they yummy.  Goldhahn & Sampson, purveyor of organic / fair trade products, had a blood sausage cooking demo (which I tried – it was good – but I could not finish because my brain kept thinking BLOOD!), and a diverse range of products like pickled Korean cabbage and authentic corn tortillas made by a real Mexican living in the area.  For some reason however, they had a Japanese woman selling sushi dressed up in a dirndle…(huh?).  Anyway, it’s definitely worth a follow up visit to their place in Prenzlauerberg just to get more authentic goodies!

Sebastian and I decided to stroll around together, and we sampled some wine from Suff and some moist carrot cake from Culinary Misfits (its okay eat weird misshapen carrots!  They taste the same! ;D), and we circulated the venue several times chatting and bumping into friends.  We perused the Literary Lounge bookstalls featuring sellers such as Shakespeare Books and their ever-growing collection of new and used English language editions (yay!) from every genre, from fiction to philosophy to kids to art.  There was a lot of action for kids as well, fun, messy art projects and very popular puppet theater that we peeked behind.

For me, the highlight of the event was the “swishing,” a clothing swap organized by @planetnatty.  I offloaded a bunch of stuff from my heavier days and picked up several cute little garbs which will be great for the summer.

The event was really great, and I hope they do it again next year.  My only regret is that I didn’t have more of a chance to chat with the man behind the whole thing, @paulosullivano, but then again he was running around nonstop keeping everything running smoothly, and he certainly did a fantastic job.

Thanks for reading.  Cheers!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Berlin, City LIfe, Eating & Drinking, Shopping & Fashion

Author:Sandy Hathaway

Hi, I'm Sandy. I've been working in marketing, sales and business strategy since 1998. In 2012, I left behind my long corporate career and partnered up with a team of great guys to build our own SaaS startup. It's the hardest thing I've ever done, but luckily the most fun too. This blog is where I keep my notes about specific articles, data sources, and models that I'm currently evaluating and using. Current areas of focus include: recommender systems, predictive dynamic content, open time technology, email marketing, B2B marketing and sales, channel management, go-to-market strategy, mobile marketing, social marketing

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Creativity, Culture, And Cuisine With Slow Travel Berlin”

  1. April 23, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    we could unfortunately only stop by for a few minutes so i am happy to experience it all through your post, sounds like it was great fun! and from someone who hardly eats meat, blood sausage really isn’t bad… although I wouldn’t call it good either….. ;)

  2. April 23, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    Thanks for letting me see what I missed!

  3. travelsofadam
    April 23, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    Sounds like it went well! I was sorry to miss it….

  4. April 24, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    hi there, The “japanese woman” was in fact korean, and the dirndl is her trademark outfit in which she usually teaches cooking classes. the suhi was korean sushi. see you at goldhahn und sampson.

  5. April 26, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    Cool, thanks for this. I wanted to go too, but it’s good to see what happened–not to mention all those fine people involved. I hope Paul does another one of these soon. That guy must be an organisational mastermind.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,127 other followers

