I Want to Wash the Windows of the Fernsehturm

Sandy and the Fernsehturm

So I was sitting in the revolving restaurant in the Fernsehturm, sipping a lovely glass of champagne with a friend, admiring the setting sun and the vastness of Berlin sprawling to the horizon in every direction, and a thought occurred to me:

How do they wash the windows?

I mean, check out this short video of the views I was enjoying – the Fernsehturm is super, super high up, and there certainly ain’t nuthin’ to stand on out there. I also couldn’t imagine how one of those usual contraptions that use pulleys to move up and down when washing windows of skyscrapers (Wolkenkratzer) would work, because it is a giant round ball.

So I asked the waitress.

“The cleaners use bungee cords and climbing gear, and they rappel up and down while washing the windows,” she says.

I was never so impressed. Maybe she lied and I am gullible, but now I want to wash the windows of the Fernsehturm in Berlin. Anyone know who I need to ask?  Will work for adrenalin.

;)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Berlin, Sights & History

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “I Want to Wash the Windows of the Fernsehturm”

  1. October 26, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    I’ve seen pictures of the guys cleaning the windows and it’s very spectacular but there is no way on God’s green Earth that you would get me to do it – I’d rather drink a fish milkshake!

  2. October 27, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Now that’s a picture that’s gotta be taken – to see some folks waaaay up high, washing those windows. Nothin’ but air above, around, and below you : yikes. ;-)

  3. toto
    October 27, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    Yes, she told the truth. You can see them a few days a year doing that. Must be a special job ;-)

  4. stefan
    November 20, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    i was at the restaurant when some guys were cleaning the windows from outside, they were hanging on ropes like alpinists and the children went wilde!

  5. Lisa Katherine Margaret Arnold
    August 27, 2014 at 3:19 am #

    The video violated you tube terms? What COULD that possibly be! Snagglepuss bs if I ever heard!! Bring back the video!! You who??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,120 other followers

